Lisdis

I had a very interesting Saturday in Huddersfield listening to folk who’ve just graduated from a library postgraduate course present their dissertations. They were a friendly bunch which was a relief.

It also really made me think about how important having topics included in library classifications and on library catalogues is in terms of ensuring equality of access to marginalised groups (including women’s studies!)

This is something I didn’t have to deal with in public libraries as it was done by our suppliers. Now however, it’s partly my responsibility how we classify and catalogue books.

There were other interesting presentations about digital equality in community run libraries. What can I say about this except that it is deeply depressing where our country is going with cuts? Indeed, Lancashire county council is apparently cutting half of its libraries. I don’t know the solution but I will be making my views known. 😦

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

